Shot In The Dark at Henri’s

henris.jpg

I found the ultimate fix for those who need to stay up for 24 hours or more – be it making cut paper posters, open heart surgery, all-night raves, or anything else that requires sleep deprivation: the Shot in the Dark. Nope, not a caffeine pill or cracked-out Aderol or intravenously fed coffee. No, this is just a lovely cup full of a night’s sleep all for $1.80.

As my desire grows to someday build an online database of independent coffee shops in Atlanta, I’ve been exploring the scene, and frequently visiting a backyard favorite, Henri’s Bakery near West Paces and Peachtree. The place looks a bit old and outdated, but that just adds character in a quickly modernizing Buckhead area. I suggest a visit, but not a late one – they are a true bakery and operate on an early schedule, and likewise close early (6pm). However, the friendly barrista at the inside cafe will whip up your choice from a wide variety of caffeinated novelties, and he will warn you when need be.

I felt the need for a strong blend today, and went for the Shot In The Dark. Pig has had this before, but as he is not affected by caffeine, merely enjoys the taste without having to worry about an after effect. He is looking for a replacement for his favorite Cuban coffee he gets at a small cafe near Ft. Myers, Florida – 4 or so shots of espresso, but hold the sugar. Anyway, he says the Shot in the Dark is a good replacement drink.

I myself cut back on the coffee over break, as to let my body break down its tolerance before the next quarter in order to let the next 2 1/2 months of caffeine intake be more effective. Yes, I know it’s silly, but it’s a nice little psychological mind game that saves me some money at Starbucks (am I justifying the lack of drinking coffee? I think I am…).

Anyway, the Shot In The Dark is Henri’s whatever blend of powerful coffee with espresso added. Yes, this is nice…imagine an old crusty alcoholic finding a place that serves the nastiest, strongest whiskey out there…and you have something kinda similar in a much more pleasant smelling scenario. This wild concoction is of course best served with a chaser, one of their many lovely fresh baked delicacies. And for you health nuts – don’t worry, the kick from this drink will have you doing cardio with no problem afterward. It’s 3 am, and I feel like going for a run. And I hate running.

While Pig is effortlessly sleeping, I’m reminded that for once I don’t need to be up all night – my work load has not kicked in fully (still haven’t had all my classes), and I should either be doing something fun or taking advantage of the sleep thing. I actually have to get up for something tomorrow, so rather than feeling guilty that I’m not out painting the town pink, I wish I could sleep. Tylenol PM to the rescue perhaps, if anyone else has tips, let me know.

But yes, go get the Shot In The Dark when the time is appropriate. Then get your xactos/track shoes/glow sticks and whatever else ready. But most of all, just go and support the local independent cafe scene, Atlanta needs ’em!

henris2.jpg

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Shot In The Dark at Henri’s

  1. their sandwiches are outstanding as well! all and all a throw back to a different time.

  2. *Laughs* I thought you chased coffee with cognac…:P

  3. Oh, ya… so, in light of the coffee shop entry, of which I should have posted earlier with my last comment but I DIDN’T… so there…:P

    We’re interested in doing some travelling in the future – possibly starting for our honeymoon. We are considering the American south… anything interested in Georgia? 😛

  4. Jessica

    You know, I passed by there today with Phil and almost went in. We ended up going to Souper Jenny’s; everyone always raves about it. Have you been? Its okkkkk but not the most amazing sandwiches of my life. And it was so . . . FRILLY! Haha. I need to check og Henry’s.

Leave a comment