Stuck in beef stew/ Gogol Bordello

gogol_bordello21.jpg

What the hell is wrong with me? Has apathy taken over? a disinterest in things outside books and design webpages? Just an assumption that nothing outragously fun is in my price range?!

When I was in college, I made a promise to myself that no matter how crazy things got or what money was like (much better then than now, actually), I would go to at least one “real” (involving a little more dinero) show/theatrical event/concert per month (I know, Jessica, if you’re reading this you’re probably cringing at this number). To redeem myself from complete hermit-ville, this did not include parties, club outings (that’s so 1998!), improv shows and artsy exhibits. I also tried to spend a night in a homeless shelter (volunteering, ahem) once a semester, but that’s another story.

ARGH! So last night Gogol Bordello were in town. I’d talked to Pig over a month ago about the show. When our loan trouble began, I dropped any reminders about things happening, and so I did with this. I assumed the tickets would be too expensive and I’d be too busy, someting else something else. In fact, when I went past the Roxy yesterday, there was like a faint little voice in the back of my head, said weakly “Hey, Gogol Bordello, right here in your back yard. Hey, isn’t that cool. You really wanted to go see them. let’s go home now to do laundry.”

So, I went home. I didn’t do any laundry. I erased from my mind that 2 minutes of walking was a show that I really really wanted to see. I wouldn’t even have to park anywhere! But, I kept hoping that the tickets were too expensive, or it sold out really fast.

Of course, today as we wandered by the Roxy, like an idiot I mentioned it

Belka: hey, Gogal Bordello was here last night. it was probably an awesome show

Pig: Right here? the Roxy? Why didn’t you tell me it was last night, we could have gone!

Belka: I’m sure the tickets were to much for the both of us. I have to buy some books for school anyway.

Pig: Did you check? Maybe they weren’t expensive. For all we know, it could have been a free show. At least for Russians.

Belka: Grrrr. <dismal cloud ascends over head>

So, of course tonight I’m trying to see if they will ever be back, or maybe be in NY when I go up in December. Of course, I was curious to look for tickets prices because I just love pouring salt on an open wound…no info on last night’s show…but for upcoming shows there seemed to be a range of $15-26 around the US. $15!!??! At the Roxy?! That would have been like $30 for the two of us, that’s almost what you spend at the movies (sorry, Pig’s gotta have his oversalted popcorn)! I would gladly have given up a trip or two to the ol’ kino for that. Hell, I have Blockbuster and a microwave. But I don’t have a concert hall pumped full of gypsy punk!

Anyway, I gotta kick this overcooked pot of beef strew I’m in and stop assuming everything is against me.

But the book I bought today was pretty expensive…

Leave a comment

Filed under design, portfoliocenter

Leave a comment