January brings a 5th quarter

leftovers.jpg

The new quarter started and the holidays seemed long forgotten, but leftover kharcho and hachipurri are nice to have around when the cold emptiness of this time of year can settle in. Well, not cold, it’s been around 70 here lately (though we had a few days in the 30s last week).

It’s always a bit hard to start back in after several weeks off – it takes a while after critique week to adjust to sleeping normally and not having constant pressure applied – I seriously felt like I was suffering Moscow jet lag the first week, falling asleep at 11pm and waking at 4am. Now I’m getting used to a schedule of night classes, which is very weird as I am alone most of the daytime hours. I do have a class and a seminar 2 mornings a week, but 4 nights I’m in class (taking extra this quarter). So, motivating myself in the quietness, especially in the morning, is quite difficult. I’m not very inspiried in the morning…I become active at night, and feel most productive then, but now that time is spent in partially class, and when I come home, some of that spent with Pig before he goes to barn.

My instructors do seem surprisingly enthusiastic this quarter, perhaps a more advanced level is more exciting to them. Last quarter I was worried that the Media Architecture was loosing steam, but I sense a lot more spirit this quarter and that this really might just go somewhere. I am dreading the more technical aspects of Actionscript 3.0, but alas I wanted to learn that for Flash II. Motion II should also be enjoyable if our school gets up to date on its software. I must say that After Effects is the most enjoyable program I’ve learned while at PC, and I’m am very excited about the combination of this program’s capabilities and my imagination. I also have Design Experience, which is more theory than technical – something I haven’t had yet for my MA experience, and felt was lacking last quarter…I’m looking forward to see where this is going, and meanwhile I’ll be posting some of my assignments here for class.

I also have a logos class taught by Stefan Kjartansson of Armchair Media. When I got my schedule I wasn’t excited about another logos class, but Stefan’s reputation quickly spread that this wasn’t a class to be dropped. I was so relieved that the first class wasn’t draw-100-logos-and-then-I’ll-tell-you-what-sucks-and-have-you-draw-another-100. If we end up doing that later I won’t mind, but I just needed a break from that formula from day one. It’s such a breath of fresh air to get a little insight on what makes a logo work, playing first with shapes, and taking a different approach to logo related exercises – all from a different, professional perspective. And I was glad to see that Stefan seemed like a fun quirky guy, as I feared that an ego might accompany his prestigious reputation. Anyway, I’ll be posting some of those assignments here too.

I am nervous about PC staple, Message and Content, as I feel the foundation I set for my projects in these early weeks will really set the tone for the rest of the quarter. Mapping a journey and/or narrative – it sounds wonderfully interesting, but I feel a little lost as to where to start! I love maps, collect them often, and am obsessed with journeys…So, I suppose I feel some pressure to get this right…

So while the pressure of a heavy workload hasn’t built yet, I feel much in choosing the right start for my projects. It’s ideas and steps that will determine if these projects are worthy of being reworked, improved and put into my portfolio. After this, only two more quarters of real classes…I really need to start putting out some decent work…

1 Comment

Filed under animation, design, flash, Portfolio Center, travel

One response to “January brings a 5th quarter

  1. AK

    It sounds like you are in a good place with things. I’m jealous of the class with Stefan, though. Listen to what he says, the parts in English anyway.

Leave a Reply

