Design Experience: Yahoo Mail

The following is a short essay for my Design Experience class regarding good and bad experiences.

Several years ago, I was offered a position by a large corporation and readily jumped at the opportunity. After meeting with my future boss and later accepting the position, she attempted email correspondence with me. My response, sent through my address at Mail.ru, a Russian service I had been using while living abroad, was immediately sent back, rejected by the company’s service as potential spam.
In need of an urgent email address, I looked for something widely used so as to increase its chances of getting through to my boss’s email. At that point, Yahoo was a leader and I quickly created an account with them. Success, I could now contact my boss via electronic mail.
Yahoo pleased me for the time being, as their old interface provided a small space for news updates and search topics before entering the mail section. However, as time would have it, updates came, and the experience became more dismal. Instead of an easy to navigate site, it soon became cluttered with paparazzi news, dancing mortgage rate ads, and general unorganized grids. The most recent updates, however, had major changes to the mail section of Yahoo, and that has finally pushed me to the point where I may phase out this address with time.

yahoo1.jpg
While it seems like Yahoo tried to squeeze every possibly thing in front of the eyes of its user, I am instead hit with so many things I cannot find what I want. Now when I enter the mail department, I see news headlines and ads instead of my mail…I have to find the tab for my mail hidden behind them.

yahoo2.jpg

The content of my emails shares half a panel with list of mail in my box, so I constantly have to scroll of readjust the size of the panel. Once it’s open, I have to click a button to unblock my images (I guess created for faster loading times incase I don’t want to see anything), which is an annoyance. Maybe there is a way to shut it off, but I don’t feel like taking the time to investigate – it should be placed in a more obvious location. Finally, even finding a button for “new mail” feels awkward and detached from the rest of the options.
At any rate, unless a new update brings great things, I will be slowly shifting to a new personal address.

yahoo3.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under design, Portfolio Center

Leave a Reply

