The Dark and Enchanting Zimakov

ill_birdgodess.jpg

I don’t mean to steal a post from BoingBoing, but I just checked out Vladimir Zimakov‘s work and I do think it’s deserving of a look. I love the dark, expressive style and the story expressed in each piece. I did some wood cuts and linocuts in my undergrad, and got to experience what a pain in the ass they can be – I wish I had his work to look at during that time, it would have been such an inspiration.

And no, it was not the slavic name that got my attention, but samples of his work. So there. Go check it out.

ill_rats.jpg

walp1.jpg

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The Dark and Enchanting Zimakov

  1. jessicatillyer

    This is beautiful! I lovvvve it. http://jessicatillyer.wordpress.com

  2. jessicatillyer

    And how do you get that flickr side panel?

Leave a Reply

